• Home
  • Contest
  • 2020 Excellence in the Media Awards winners

2020 (Virtual) Excellence in the Media Awards & Newsmaker of the Year

The Press Club of Southeast Texas held its 29th Annual Excellence in the Media & Newsmaker of the Year event virtually on Saturday night, November 14, 2020 in the living room of club president Kristi Dodd in Beaumont.

Thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic only five club members physically attended the event but many more watched via webinar and on the club's Facebook page. The virtual event celebrated this year's Newsmaker of the Year and the hard work of hundreds of communication professionals from Southeast Texas.

Satchel Smith, this year's Newsmaker of the Year, manned the Homewood Suite hotel alone for 32 hours after Tropical Storm Imelda struck Southeast Texas.

A post on social media by one of the marooned guests that mentioned the Lamar University student's grace under pressure went viral and Smith soon made national headlines.

The four other Newsmaker of the Year finalists honored throughout the evening included Jeff Branick, Dr. Belinda George, Dade Phelan and Geary Senigaur Jr. 

The winner was selected by popular vote among the club's members.

Hundreds of winners were collectively honored with 252 awards announced throughout the evening.

A total of  464 entries were received for this year's contest which featured 105 individual categories.

Ninety-one first-place trophies were awarded along with 71 second place, 53 third place and 37 honorable mention certificates.

A complete winner's list is available HERE.

2020 Winners

Find a complete list of winners HERE.

Unless otherwise noted the contents of this website are © Press Club of Southeast Texas

The Press Club of Southeast Texas is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 1922, Beaumont, TX 77704-1922

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software