Press Club of SE Texas History

A group of 25 representatives of Southeast Texas media joined forces in 1968 to form a regional press club for employees of local newspapers, television and radio stations.

Incorporated in 1969, the Press Club of Southeast Texas was modeled after similar clubs in Dallas and Galveston, Texas.

It is the area’s first and only press club serving nine counties: Jefferson, Orange, Hardin, Liberty, Chambers, Jasper, Tyler, Polk, and Newton.

The awards program of the Press Club has grown significantly since its inception more than a decade ago and continues to contribute to excellence in both media and public relations work in the region.

In 1991, the Excellence in the Media and Newsmaker of the Year awards began. Professionals and student organizations can enter media awards categories in the areas of newspaper, radio, television, Web design, photography, publications and public relations. Judging is conducted by reciprocal agreemeent with a number of professional and press clubs around the country.

In addition, the Press Club honors the Newsmaker of the Year, the person who has had the greatest impact in the news during the year. The club membership chooses by ballot five Newsmaker honorees and a Newsmaker finalist each year.

The Press Club of Southeast Texas is the proud sponsor of the Press Club Memorial Scholarship Award. Scholarships are awarded annually to outstanding Lamar University communication students.

Meetings & Events

  • No upcoming events

Unless otherwise noted the contents of this website are © Press Club of Southeast Texas

The Press Club of Southeast Texas is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 1922, Beaumont, TX 77704-1922

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software