• Home
  • Contest
  • 2021 Excellence in the Media Awards winners

30th Excellence in the Media Awards, Newsmaker of the Year, Decade held virtually

The Press Club of Southeast Texas held its 30th Annual Excellence in the Media & Newsmaker of the Year event virtually on Saturday night, October 24, 2021, from the offices of The Examiner in downtown Beaumont.

Thanks again to the COVID-19 pandemic only three club members physically attended the event but many more watched via webinar and on the club's Facebook page. The virtual event celebrated the hard work of hundreds of communication professionals from Southeast Texas as well as this year's Newsmaker of the Year and the Newsmaker of Decade.

MORE | Complete list of winners
WATCH | 30th Excellence in the Media Awards 

This year's Newsmaker of the Year is Texas Speaker of the house Dade Phelan

The four other Newsmaker of the Year finalists honored throughout the evening included Dr. Qamar Arfeen, CharLee Hanna-Rule, Dan Maher and Sherry Ulmer. 

The winner was selected by popular vote among the club's members.

Along with the Newsmaker of the Year, Jefferson County Sheriff Zena Stephens was announced as the newsmaker of the decade.  

Hundreds of winners were collectively honored with 252 awards announced throughout the evening.

A total of 529 entries were received for this year's contest which featured 107 individual categories.

Ninety-four first-place trophies were awarded along with 73 second place, 63 third place and 32 honorable mention certificates.

A complete winner's list is available HERE.

2021 Winners

Find a complete list of winners HERE.

Unless otherwise noted the contents of this website are © Press Club of Southeast Texas

The Press Club of Southeast Texas is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 1922, Beaumont, TX 77704-1922

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software